Extract Straight From The Movies #2

In this post I’m gonna continued extracting quotes from movies. All of the movies were movies that i’ve watched. So this is a handpicked quotes, not something-random-but-sounds-cool quotes, although some of the quotes I’m gonna quoted here today will naturally cool😀

Here it goes:

The Shawshank Redemption (1994):

Andy Dufresne: She was beautiful. God I loved her. I just didn’t know how to show it, that’s all. I killed her, Red. I didn’t pull the trigger, but I drove her away. And that’s why she died, because of me.

Andy Dufresne: You know the funny thing is, on the outside I was an honest man, straight as an arrow. I had to come to prison to be a crook.

Andy Dufresne: That’s the beauty of music. They can’t get that from you… Haven’t you ever felt that way about music?
Red: I played a mean harmonica as a younger man. Lost interest in it though. Didn’t make much sense in here. 
Andy Dufresne: Here’s where it makes the most sense. You need it so you don’t forget. 
Red: Forget? 
Andy Dufresne: Forget that… there are places in this world that aren’t made out of stone. That there’s something inside… that they can’t get to, that they can’t touch. That’s yours. 
Red: What’re you talking about?
Andy Dufresne: Hope. 

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (2011):

Oskar Schell: I started with a simple problem… a key with no lock… and I designed a system I thought fit the problem. I broke everything down in the smallest parts… and tried to think of each person as a number… in a gigantic equation. 
But it wasn’t working… because people aren’t like numbers. They’re more like letters… and those letters want to become stories… and dad said that stories need to be shared. 

Oskar Schell: If the sun were to explode, you wouldn’t even know about it for 8 minutes because thats how long it takes for light to travel to us. For eight minutes the world would still be bright and it would still feel warm. It was a year since my dad died and I could feel my eight minutes with him… were running out.

Super 8 (2011):

Alice Dainard: I know I don’t know you at all. Even though it sort of feels like I do. Do you not…feel like that?
Joe Lamb: No. No, I totally do. I’m just kind of in shock at this entire conversation.

Joe Lamb: She used to look at me… this way, like really look… and I just knew I was there… that I existed.

Flipped (2010):

Bryce Loski: The way she ignore me was a constant reminder that I’ve been a jerk.

Bryce Loski: Strange, here I was having lunch with the hottest girl in school, but I was miserable. Because less than twenty feet away from me was Juli, my Juli, with Eddie Trulock. She’s laughing; what was she laughing about? How could she sit there and laugh, and look so beautiful? 

Juli Baker: As we stood there, I realized that all these years we’d never really talked. But that day we started. 
Bryce Loski: And I knew we’d be talking for a long time.

Juli BakerIn all the years, I’d never visited my Uncle Daniel. I don’t know why. It was always something my dad did alone. We didn’t say much to each other on the drive to Devonhurst, but I didn’t care. I just liked being with my dad. Somehow the silence seemed to connect us in a way that words never could.

Reservoir Dogs (1992):

Mr. Pink: You kill anybody?
Mr. White: A few cops.
Mr. Pink: No real people?
Mr. White: Just cops.

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004):

Joel: Constantly talking isn’t necessarily communicating.

Clementine: Hi!
Joel: Excuse me? 
Clementine: I just said hi.
Joel: Oh! Hi, hello. 
Clementine: I’m Clementine… No jokes about my name. 
Joel: I don’t know any jokes about your name. 
Clementine: Huckleberry Hound.
Joel: I don’t know what that is. 
Clementine: Huckleberry Hound! 
[singing]
Clementine: Oh my darling, oh my darling, oh my darling Clementine. 
Joel: I don’t know what that means. 
Clementine: Are you NUTS? 
Joel: It’s been suggested.

Mary: Adults are, like, this mess of sadness and phobias.

Joel: What a loss to spend that much time with someone, only to find out that she’s a stranger.

Trainspotting (1996):

Mark “Rent-boy” Renton: The downside of coming off junk was I knew I would need to mix with my friends again in a state of full consciousness. It was awful. They reminded me so much of myself, I could hardly bear to look at them.

Sick Boy: Personality, I mean that’s what counts, right? That’s what keeps a relationship going through the years. Like heroin, I mean heroin’s got a great fucking personality.

Good Will Hunting (1997):

Sean: Real loss is only possible when you love something more than you love yourself.

Sean: Do you have a soul mate?
Will: Define that. 
Sean: Someone you can relate to, someone who opens things up for you.
Will: Sure, I got plenty.
Sean: Well, name them.
Will: Shakespeare, Nietzsche, Frost, O’Conner… 
Sean: Well that’s great. They’re all dead.
Will: Not to me, they’re not.
Sean: You can’t have a lot of dialogue with them.
Will: Not without a heater and some serious smelling salts.
Fight Club (1999):

Narrator: You wake up at Seatac, SFO, LAX. You wake up at O’Hare, Dallas-Fort Worth, BWI. Pacific, mountain, central. Lose an hour, gain an hour. This is your life, and it’s ending one minute at a time. You wake up at Air Harbor International. If you wake up at a different time, in a different place, could you wake up as a different person? 

Tyler Durden: It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything.

Tyler Durden: You’re not your job. You’re not how much money you have in the bank. You’re not the car you drive. You’re not the contents of your wallet. You’re not your fucking khakis. You’re the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world. 

About aulleaul

I am a Social Welfare graduate, from University of Indonesia. I am passionate with human resources as well as human in general. Love watching movie and read a lot.

Posted on 23/08/2012, in Film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

Leave a Reply

